T Nation

New to Training for mass, Very Overwhelmed

Like I said, I'm new to all of this. I did do MANY searches but have come across so many different workout plans I just need a little guidance to get started properly.

Me... quick and dirty...
I am Male, 5'7, 175-180, very mildly overweight. I have worked out enough that I have some barely visible chest/arm size with zero definition due to a layer of body fat that is thankfully shrinking due to my increased lifting over the last month. Most of my fat deposit falls into typical spare tire zones. I still do not have the upper body strength to properly/reliably do a full set of pull ups. I have worked mostly with an old weight machine I got at a garage sale that is falling apart, and a set of dumbbells that I purchased years ago.

So I am just now getting serious in trying to transform myself. I have finally found and joined a good gym. My problem is the HUGE volume of input. The blessing and curse of the internet is that I have read way too many contradicting ideas on how to best do this. Instead of everyone trying to tell me which program is the best. I have put together a list of eight exercises that are in my very novice opinion good enough to start me off correctly. I just want opinions on what you would change and why. For the purpose of this thread lets assume my nutrition is on point.

I am a very organized person so this is very simple for me to start off on and log my sets/reps/weights on each set.

This breaks down to a Classic MON/WED/FRI Lifting with (TUE/THUR/SAT Rest or Cardio):

Romanian Deadlift
Dumbbell Curl to Overhead Press
Pullups (gotta work up to these) thankfully the gym has a assisted pullup station
Hang Cleans
Alt Dumbbell Press
Squats
Swiss Ball weighted crunch
Half Kneeling Cable Twist/Lift.

I will of course bump up my total weight lifted every week.