New to the Nation

Whats up everyone? Sorry in advance for the long winded post.

I guess this is sort of an introduction. I started lifting 11 months ago give or take, after a few long looks in the mirror(and an engagement) made me really ask myself if I was happy with my body comp. Ignoring the fact that weight isn’t the end all be all of form, I was about 80lbs overweight, weak and pathetic.

My size 44 pants were starting to feel snug and at 25 going on 26 I felt like I was 55 going on dead. I putzed around in a local gym for the first few months trying different routines that I picked up here and there, until about six months ago I hooked up with one of the trainers/owners of the gym…he put me on a pretty intense fat loss/GPP program, with lots of variety and super high volume.

I lost about half of the weight that I planned on shedding and saw my abdominal measurements shrink by a total of 19 inches, mostly from the natural waist, chest and mid sternum. That said, I didn’t feel or look much stronger, just smaller and healthier.

After a few weeks break due to an auto accident, I decided to start putting the knowledge that I’ve gleaned from this site(and others) as well as books like Starting Strength, New Rules of Lifting and Beyond Brawn to use and devise my own lifting and dieting regimen.

For the last four weeks I’ve been following my own program. Three days a week I do full body free weight workouts, focusing on big compound lifts. Using long rest periods between sets, I train with total active recovery…i.e, after a given set I’ll hit the speed bag for a minute, or jog on an incline for two minutes, jump rope, do burpees, fast body squats etc. concentrating on my breathing until my heart rate levels out, then on to the next lift. On off days I try to go for a long walk or some other NEPA.