T Nation

New to the Fishing Game

There doesn’t seem to be a current thread for all things fishing so I thought I’d start a new thread. I know there are some avid fishermen here.

A couple of questions if you don’t mind and feel free to talk about anything and everything related to fishing in here.

1. I’m pretty new to fishing for real and I plan to mostly fish freshwater for bass & trout this year. What are everyone’s favorite lures/setups? Do you prefer live bait?

2. I’m headed down to the Outerbanks NC later this year and would like to do some saltwater fishing. I’ve been told you need a saltwater rod/reel is that true (I understand a lot of it has to do with being able to cast past where waves are breaking)? I could use some rod/reel suggestions for saltwater. How about bait for saltwater fishing? I’ll be there mid summer so it looks like these are the sorts of fish in season (Blue marlin, white marlin, dolphin, wahoo, cobia, king mackerel, bluefish, tuna, flounder, snapper, grouper, spanish mackerel, & croaker).

You’re bait is going to be specific to the water you’re fishing in. That being said, if I had one lure to use for the rest of my life it would be a black and silver Rapala. I use live bait about %20 when fishing for bass.

I solely use spinning tackle (Shimano reel and a 6’ St. Croix rod) for bass.

I’ve never fished in saltwater other than off a party boat in Tarpon Springs, FL and there I spent most of the time chumming the water and sipping warm 7 UP.

I like fly fishin’. Being somewhere in Maryland you should like fly fishing too.

@SteelyDan is the saltwater/brine big bass buda.

I really don’t know much about spinning tackle/live bait.

Oh man, I could write a book. If I was any good at writing.

Lure types. Depends on their location, water temp, barometric pressure, weather conditions, time of day, what they are feeding on.