T Nation

New to T-Nation, Some Questions

Hey, I'm new to T-Nation forums. I've been reading articles for months but I decided to register for the forum.

I've been on a diet to lose fat for a few months and lost around 40-50 pounds. But I need about 10-20 more at most to lose and my normal diet doesn't work. I've decided to try to Velocity Diet. How does this look?

I weigh 180 pounds with around 15% BF.

5 Shakes with 1 Cup of Fat-Free Milk with 1 Scoop of Whey except Breakfast and Post-Workout which is 2 Scoops
And right before bed I have 5 eggs because I don't have any other fat sources.

Comes out to 1400-1500 calories 30-35 grams of fats, 90-100 grams of carbs, and 205 grams of protein

I do 3 day MWF split and cardio on the off days which is jogging and on workout days walking in the mornings.

I think that is a bad idea. First to help everyone you will need to post what your diet is now along with maybe some more information about your weight training. The Velocity Diet is not for you at this point, you need to work on building muscle mass to help burn off more of that body fat later.

I am 5'8 around 180-185 lbs am not as nearly muscular as I would like to be. That same weight with a higher bodyfat percentage means you are carrying little muscle mass and would rather frail at around 160.

Also, the V-diet is to be done exactly how Chris outlined it or else you could suffer horribley. A whey shake with some fat free milk will not keep you satiated for more than an hour. At 1500 calories you will be pratically starving yourself.

At 6' and 190 lbs, I am a pretty thin guy. I don't think you should be cutting any more weight, even if it is fat. Hit the weights and put on some muscle -- the fat may take care of itself by virtue of the added muscle (increased resting metabolic rate).