T Nation

New to T-Nation, Looking for Weightlifting Advice

Hello, I'm new to T-Nation, and i found this site on google, and checked it out and i really liked all the good information on here.

First off, i'd like to introduce myself.
im 17, about 5"11, and 180 lbs, and about 6~7% body fat.
I play wide receiver in football, and small forward in basketball.

This year after basketball season, i gained about 20 lbs, but now i've kinda hit a plateau where no matter how much i lift/eat, i dont seem to be able to gain anymore weight.

Before I tell you my goals, i ask that you keep in mind that im a novice weightlifter, and have not had much experience besides the basics. im not gonna lie, at first, around freshmen year, i was the kinda douche that went into a gym and just did bench and curls. Now i have actually a back and chest day, an arm day (which is biceps triceps and shoulders). and a leg day. But i call these "basics" because ive been looking through some of the posts in the forum, and many people talk about how compound movements are better than isolation lifts. so i was wondering could anyone give me some good compound lifts to do?

As for my goals, im not sure if i have conflicting goals, but on one side, i want to get a defined 6 pack. i currently have a semi defined 4 pack, but just cant get the definition, such as the line down the middle. i do many ab exercises, and decent cardio, but just cant get the definiton! on the other side, i want to gain weight, increase weight on my squats and bench press, and make my biceps bigger. although i work my arms alot, i have not gained alot of mass around my bicep. i have not gained much in weight either, and im not really sure what the problem is!