T Nation

New to T-Nation, Heres My Current Workout

I am new to the T-Nation forums but not to the site. I thought I would start by posting my current training schedule. Primary goal is always strength but I switched to higher reps recently as I was doing low reps the last few months. It's kind of unusual so I wanted to get opinions...

Chest/Tricep Day
Group 1
3x12 Bench press
3x10 Dip
3x10 Flys
3x8 Decline Machine Bench
Group 2
3x12 Military Press
3x12 CloseGrip Press
3x10 Lat Raise
3x8 Incline Machine Bench

Back/Bicep Day
Group 1
4x8 Machine Row
3x12 Widegrip Pulldown
3x12 Cable Row
3x8 DB Curl
Group 2
5x5 Deadlift
3x8 Pulldown
3x8 Upright Row
3x10 Barbell Pullover

Legs
Group 1
1x20 Squat
3x12 Seated Calf
3x12 Standing Calf
3x15 Leg Raises for Abs
Group 2
5x5 Front Squat
3x8 Leg Curl
3x10 Leg Extension
3x15 Weighted Ab Machine

And here's the confusing part
-Split day means I do group 1 in the morning, and group 2 later in the day
-Full day means I do both Groups in 1 workout going in this order
Group 1: first exercise all sets
Group 2: first exercise all sets
Group 1: second exercise all sets
Group 2: last exercise all sets

Saturday: Chest/Tricep Full day
Sunday: Back/Biceps Full day
Monday: Off
Tuesday: Legs Split day
Wednesday: Chest/Triceps Split
Thursday: Back/Biceps Split
Friday: Cardio
Saturday: Repeat but starting with Leg day since it comes next

If Back/Bicep day falls on a weekend I do Deadlifts either Friday or Monday on its own, it's hard to get a good full workout when you start with heavy Deadlifts.

age, height, weight, time training…
Is this working for you? I mean, really?

My question is, why? Why are you splitting the exercises over two sessions some days? Why have you chosen the exercises that you have, and in the order that you have? Why have you chosen this particular split?

Personally, it looks like to me that you’re trying to be “clever” with your programming.