T Nation

New to Squats & Deadlifts

I've been lifting weights for several years but only recently has it approached anything resembling a coherent program. I've begun working with a personal trainer and the first thing they did was incorporate squats and deadlifts into my weekly routines. Before this I had never done either since I was told at a young age that they would lead to back problems especially if I didn't know how to properly do them.

My front squat and back squat are both roughly equal in strength. I use 175lbs for 4x10 straight sets with 90 seconds rest between sets. With the front squat I'm able to go below parallel, essentially until I'm touching my calves, while if I go much below parallel in the back squat I start to round my back. Is this the usual case or am I performing some part of the movement improperly? My weight is on my heels the entire time and my trainer says everything mechanically looks fine but I wanted a second opinion.

As far as the deadlift goes, with straight leg deadlifts I feel my hamstrings working and no strain in my lower back at all. But with the standard deadlift I feel it mainly in my lower back and that worries me a little. I've watched videos and had my form evaluated but I was wondering if there were any tips on how someone just starting to deadlift should proceed to insure proper technique is learned and the risk of injury is low.

Back squat- You're not necessarily doing it wrong, you're just inflexible. ATG flexibility comes with practice. To develop the flexibility in the hips and legs to squat deeper, the fastest method I've found is to take a light weight, squat into the deepest position you can enter in good form, and hold that position for five seconds. At this point, you should be able to go a little deeper. Repeat the process on or two times per rep. Do three sets of five reps. 3-5 workouts later, you should be able to go ATG.