New to Powerlifting

hey guys
im new to the whole weight training thing so i expect to cop some shit for what may be obvious to most of you.
Ive dropped 30kgs with kettlebells over the last 6 months i used to look 9 months pregnant now much better.

I want to hit the weights and build some solid strength but honestly have no idea where to start, theres so mush crap on the net, but t nation has a good rep.

Im 48 yo 5"10, 115kgs, relatively injury free and want to get a lot stronger not particularly interested in body building, the pure strength aspect of pl really appeals to me. So any advice on programs etc would be appreciated. I invested in a couple of hundred kilos of weights a couple of good bars and a good bench and squat rack.

Treat this like a noob question because it is.
thanks in advance

First, welcome and congrats on the big weight loss and lifestyle change. And to help address your goals there are quite a few possibilities for you. First start by learning all you can about the 3 lifts, and practice them as often as you can. A lot of people would recommend you do Starting Strength, or a basic 5x5 program. Which are fine choices for a beginner, but I’ve never been the biggest fan of premade cookie cutter programs. If your goal is to just get stronger, train hard 4 or 5 times a week. Squat 2x a week if you can, bench 2x a week. Deadlift if you are comfortable with it. Do lots of upper back work, like rows, pullups etc. Maybe bench 1x a week and overhead press seated or standing the other day.

You have lots of options and you are only limited by your effort and recovery abilities.

Thanks for that any and all advice gratefully received

[quote]cparker wrote: