New to Powerlifting, Good Numbers?

Hello I’m 17 and I weigh in at 138 to 141 I’m new to powerlifting alongside my friend. My lifts
Bench 165
Squat 230
Deadlift 320
Are these good for a newbie to completing?

1 Like

If you’re 17 then don’t worry, you have a long way to go. You are probably stronger than the vast majority of kids your age, just keep training. Nobody is going to laugh at you at a meet as long as you can perform the lifts properly.

3 Likes

They are good for a newbie, but don’t think about competing until your bench + squat + dead lift = 1000 pounds. You won’t win competitions at that level, but reaching a goal like that would show the necessary dedication.

I hear a lot of people saying the complete opposite, it doesn’t matter what numbers you are going for as long as your lifts will pass.

2 Likes

I agree. It makes no sense to wait until you achieve an arbitrary mark.

5 Likes

Are your sure I should wait till I hit 1000 total because I’m looking at the records for diffrent meets in my weight class , and they all are in the 600 and very rarely are any at the 800 total

Absolutely no need to wait. A 1000 lbs total is quite high for your age, and for an adult male under not uncommon as a first total: 400/200/400 is something quite a few regular guys would be delighted to have.

1 Like

don’t listen to Paules. That’s dumb advice. Go do a meet!

6 Likes

Do you have a point?

What are your numbers?

Just wondering. Your lifts are good but nothing special, yet you want to call a 17 year old who really just wanted to know where he stood ‘pathetic’. It’s like the least useful thing you could have done. ‘Pathetic’ isn’t stating a fact anyway. It’s an opinion. Boss.

Keep up the shitty attitude and the marginal lifting. I’m sure you’ll get somewhere with that.

3 Likes