T Nation

New to PLing, Where Should I Start?

Hi everybody!

I have been working out for 8 months now and i found out i enjoy powerlifting over bodybuilding. So powerlifting is what i want to focus on in the gym. I don’t know what program would be best for me? Any advice would be verry appreciated :slight_smile:

Here are some of my stats:

Age 18yo
Weight 76 kg, 167.5 pounds
Height 180 cm, 5.9 ft
squat 1RM 135 kg, 297.6 pounds
bench 1RM 85 kg, 187.4 pounds
deadlift 1RM 165 kg, 363.8 pounds

Which Powerlifting Program Should I Follow?

Welcome to the world of weight training!

My question to you is: Do you plan on competing or do you just enjoy training for maximal strength?

Go to a powerlifting gym and talk to a coach.

I have come across a handful of people who have not made near instant improvements by doing this- be it form, training, attitude, application, knowledge, etc

I do not plan on competing, like you Said I Enjoy training for maximal strenght.

Would love to do that but weten live there is No powerlifting gym in the area

The simplest, especially for a beginner, would be best. Something straight forward. Hit the main lift, then assistance lift and a couple accessory exercises and that’s all you’ll need.

I’d suggest a 3x5 or 5x5 program. Also, at 5-9 167lbs, you’re gonna wanna eat a LOT more if you wanna get stronger.

Good luck.

Form over ego! I know from experience that this can be hard to do, especially in a commercial gym. It’s ok for your form to break down a little bit on the last rep of a 3RM attempt or so, but otherwise I would recommend to focus on learning the motor pattern of the lifts with less weight, but more volume to build the frame.

Else, as others suggest stick to 5x5 or so and eat a lot.

Thanks, Yes im thinking of using MyFitnessPal to track What in eating.

Would u Guys reccomend something like StrongLifts 5x5 / madcow 5/3/1 ?

I’ll expand on some what was already said.