T Nation

New to Personal Training

just wondering if anyone has experience with personal training.
i have a lot of knowledge in terms of being able to train individuals, but i really suck at actually getting clients to begin with. does anyone have suggestions on how to approach potential clients in a gym? this is typically how i would go about obtaining my clients for this job (despite my boss saying they will hook me up with clients as they come). its been several weeks and nothing yet, so i figure i need to step up my marketing game

Approach potential clients in the gym ... especially those whose technique sucks ... something like someone doing a bench press (vast majority of people are absolutely terrible at it) if your any good you should be able to help them ramp up their poundage in a single session just through proper technique ... if they're serious about training they'll higher you. From there it's positive word of mouth.

Also try and target young athletes, under performers are often better clients than kids who're already on the team as if they're driven they'll work hard for you. Helping a kid like that improve their athletic capabilities can only help your reputation.
Building up a stable client base takes time, don't expect to be a success overnight.

What kind of gym do you work at that you haven't had a client for several weeks..and I know a tatic at my gym some of the PT do is give them a free session to get a grasp of it but alot of it is just working at the right gyms..

thanks for the response so far....