New to MMA, How Should I Lift?

ok , im new to mma and i wanna incorperate lifting , how should i lift ? should i do upper and lower body days ? me and de days ? or scrap de days for re days ? full body ? body part splits ? kettle bells only ?

i dunno, where are you weakest? what have you identified as issues for you when training MMA??

And even more importantly, how many days a week do you train? Your main focus should be on your technique training on the MMA classes, so doing heavy lifting before you go to train MMA is not a good idea unless you can put on a lot of effort on the recovery and nutrion.

In my opinion most of the trainees doing MMA or any other combat sport should focus their lifting on big compound movements and lift for maximal and explosive strength. In my opinion, olympic lifting is probably the best way to go if you can get somebody to teach you the proper technique. Last thing you want to do lifting is break yourself so you will miss training for a long period of time. Other movements you should try out, deadlift is great, so is squatting and you should probably do decent ammount of pull-ups, dips (both weighted if they seem too easy), military presses (I’d suggest you to do them standing so your abs and lower back both have to work at the same time, along with the shoulders and triceps) and bench press. Do all your lifting with as good of a form as you possibly can, and lift as fast and explosive as possible. Look up super sets too, to keep your training short and more intense.

What about the negative movement? Should be slow or at moderate speed?

[quote]BigMike wrote:
ok , im new to mma and i wanna incorperate lifting , how should i lift ? should i do upper and lower body days ? me and de days ? or scrap de days for re days ? full body ? body part splits ? kettle bells only ? [/quote]

How much are you training MMA?

[quote]BigMike wrote: