New to Lifting, Some Considerations to Take Into Account

Hello!

As the title says, I’m new to lifting (as in, I’ve never done it!) but my boyfriend has enticed me with stories of strength, power, and self confidence, so I’m ready to give it a try. :slight_smile:

I’m 5’3", 163lbs, and a black belt in Taekwon-Do, so I have a good understanding of working hard. I also have PCOS, so my testosterone is higher than “normal” women.

The consideration I’m most concerned about is that I had Roux-En-Y gastric bypass in April 2017, which also resulted in some pretty severe complications. So, what I’m hoping you all may be able to help me with is:

-how do I eat to ensure I’m getting enough good calories to actually build muscle? My “pouch” is roughly 4-6oz in size, and I get really full, really fast on nutrient dense foods (think red meat, etc).

-I’m concerned about stressing my internal organs where they were reconnected due to my surgery; I’m terrified I might “pop” something. Is this even something I should be worried about?

Looking forward to hearing from all of you, and to sharing my journey as well!

Happy New Year!

I just wanted to let you know that we aren’t ignoring you. I personally don’t have an experience with gastric bypass surgery.

I have however had a c section and haven’t “popped” anything yet. Just start really light and see how it feels.

I have no clue aboutvthe eating. Justvthatbif you can’t eat it, drink it. Protein, smoothies etc.

Wishing good luck on your journey!

Thanks so much for replying! I figured my questions would be a little different that what’s usually asked, but it can’t hurt to put it out there!

Have a great week. :slight_smile:

1 Like

If Puff were still on here she would be much more helpful.

1 Like

Wow, then I wish she was! I still appreciate the reply, though.

1 Like

What happened to Puff, @ChickenLittle?