T Nation

New to HRT/TRT (Need Advice Please)

Hi guys,
I am new to HRT/TRT and am seeking some sound advice on how to properly navigate this new terrain in my life.

I am 35 years old, 5'10", 180 lbs. About 15% BF. I get my health care through the VA (former Navy). I just did a T-test 2 weeks ago after pleading with my doc for 2 months and telling him that I have felt like crap in every way for the longest time...it came back very low. 141 ng. The doc ordered a second set of labs and they came back as follows: LH 2.8, FSH 2.6, ProLct 12.1, Cortisol (230pm) 5.0.

History: I have been on and off opiates since 2008 stemming from a service connected injury. I have finally quit the opiates and am now on a semi-opioid (Suboxone) for 2 months now. I did a 12 week cycle of BD Test-Cyp in the summer of 2006. From what I could remember my PCT was half ass. I did arimidex and HCG. In the summer of 2009 I did a 6 week cycle of Winnie only, 50mg a day. Got decent results. No pct. This past summer(2011) I did a 25 day cycle of prescription grade oxandrolone, I did a pyramid distribution over those days(June 20 to July 15th) with a max dosage of 30 mg. Got excellent results. No PCT.

Current status: I have Low-T and nipple sensitivity(mostly my left nipple). I have bad mood swings, low energy. I still get good erections and have a good sex drive though. The Doc has prescribed me either Testim or Andro-gel (he doesn't know yet, I find out tomorrow or early next week because of some VA process). I am just looking for some good advice on how and what to do to feel better and get right.

Any good input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Ask the dr to test you for estradiol, tsh, free t3, t4 before going on the trt...