T Nation

New to Gym & OHP/Bench Imbalance

Hey guys! I’m a 15 year old beginner weightlifter and since the gyms shut down, I’ve been out of the gym for 3 months. I noticed that I have some kind of arm i.balnce on OHP and possibly bench press. Now, I’ve trained with coaches at an athlete gym so they helped me with form and stuff. So ever since I took a break from it It seems i have an imbalance that I’ll like to address now since I have lots of time. I linked a video below and I’m actually solid with dumbells but on the bar (or broom lol) I kinda have this weird arm motion and kinda uneven pull thing happening. Any advice that I can do to fix it and what I can do right now would be appreciated. Thanks!

I couldn’t get the videos to load for myself but I was able to see the beginning screenshot of both the “barbell” and dumbbell presses.

Your DB press doesn’t look “even” either - your hands seem to be at the same height, or at least pretty close, but your elbows aren’t pointing in the same direction.

Good news: I don’t think this really matters. I’ve been teaching my brothers (ages 11 & 13) how to lift and their bench and press looked very uneven and unsturdy at first. It’s not perfect, but over time, it’s improved. I could be wrong, let’s see what other people have to say, but I really think that this is not much of a concern and will probably sort itself out once you become more comfortable and familiar with the movements.

Good for you for getting started. Stick with it! I started around the same age, and am now 20 wishing I’d just been consistent for the past 5 years. Whatever you do, just consistently do something. There’s lots of smart people on here, stick around, start a training log, learn from others.