New to 5/3/1 Workout. When to Increase Weight?

Hey all,

I’m new to the 5/3/1 and have read the basic article written on it. Unfortunately, I’m unable to purchase the book at this time, so I was suggested to ask questions here.

Do you increase the 5lb for upper body and 10lb lower body after each cycle or just the first cycle? If I read correctly, all I saw was first cycle, but wanted to double check this.

You increase the weight after each cycle. I strongly recommend you get the book when possible. I was in the same position as you and I found I learnt a lot more once I got the book. It’s definitely worth the price, it’ll last you all your training life.

3 Likes

I’m sorry I don’t want to offend you but I can never understand these “I can’t buy the book” kind of problems. You honestly don’t have 25 bucks to spare ONCE?

How much are you gym fees? Or if you train in a college kind of gym, how much are your college fees? Or if you train at home, how much did your equipment cost? You get the point I’m trying to make?

If you’re really serious about your training, you shouldn’t base your entire training plan on something you saw in an article on the internet.
And if you’re not that serious about your training (nothing wrong with that by the way!), you probably won’t find much good in 5/3/1 or any of Jim’s work, because he’s a no-nonsense guy with a no-nonsense training philosophy and advice. His plans are for the committed, if you just want to do it for some weeks and then switch they won’t really work (no plan will by the way).

Sorry to hijack your thread, this is nothing about you personally, I just don’t seem to get these kind of things.

For less than the price of a cup of coffee every day, you too can help a trainee in need.