T Nation

New to 5/3/1 - Old Dog, New System, Got Questions

Greetings, I am new to the 5/3/1 system and trying to wrap my head around some concepts. I am from the old school era of endless reps/sets and or a few but brutal sets ala Yates and Mentzer. Decades ago I had nearly a 500 DL, 350 bench, and probably the same for squats. Have a history of a herniated disc and I am tall 6’3 (and likely have weak spinal erectors) with long arms and torso. For some reason DL never really hurt my back but squats did (so I didn’t push them). I am for sure an ectomorph.

Anyway, here I am decades later. Been really just “exercising” the past few decades with a healthy mix of lifting weights, hiking, biking, skiing and outdoor activity. Now I am looking to put back some size and get strong and reading came across the Wendler stuff.
I’ve read 5/3/1 and just got forever. So far I totally dig the idea and wish I had this knowledge years ago! I did about 2 cycles of the BBB and really liked it until I got sick and it killed everything. For sure I started too high with the TM on OP because I struggled to get 3 reps on the “1” week. This was before I saw I should be getting 5 solid reps 100% TM.

Anyway to the actual question. How hard should these sets be? What sets should be hard, and are grinders ever allowed? I understand that you should be able to get 5 “solid” reps with 100 TM, with good speed. Is that correct? Then take somewhere from 80-90% of that for the programs? Maybe it’s just from my old school mentality of going to failure and beyond, but sometimes just doing the prescribed reps felt “easy”. Then I read about people getting 9 reps or more on the “1” week.