New Strongman Needs Advice

Hey guys, im signing up for my first show Victoria June 10.

I’m studying in Edmonton until the end of April and will be in Vic May 26th. Im hoping to get a few sessions with the strongdudes here in Edmonton before the show in Victoria but, since i have no equipment of my own, the vast majority of preperation will be in the gym.

I understand that the best way to train for events is to do events but what can i do in the gym that simulates/subsitutes basic strongman events?

heres what the bulk of my training consists of now:

lower: deads, walking lunges, front squats, step ups, cleans

presses: standing presses (barbell, dumbbell / strict, pushes, jerks), closegrip incline/flat, dips

pulls: bentover rows (barbell/dumbbell), pullups, barbell curls (curls for the girls - but i can always justify these; who wants to tear a bicep flipping that tire?)

im tipping the scales at a sun-eclipsing 225lbs so ill be entering as a novice lightweight.

also, here’s some of my current poundages to give you an idea of where im starting (presses are probably going to be my weakness in strongman):

DL: 500 x 1 with belt
front SQ: 275 x 5 with belt
strict standing press: 170 x 5
push jerk: 225 x 5
walking DB lunges: 100pounders x 12 (6/leg)
BO rows: 195 x 5
power clean: 225 x 3

here’s the event shedule for the Victoria show:

1. FW/ tire /yoke medley - 40 ft on grass. 120 sec
    Novice LW
    205 /500/420
    novice HW - open LW
    245/600/500
    Novice HW
    275/600/600

2. truck pull… harness or hand over hand - TBD

3. max DL - 3 lifts … no suits

4. pressing medley - multiple implements 90 sec.

Novice LW
130 sand bag, 150 yoke, 170 keg, 190 axle, 210 log
novice HW - open LW
130 sand bag, 170 keg, 200 yoke, 215 axle, 235 log
Novice HW
130 sand bag, 200 yoke, 230 keg, 255 axle, 280 log

5 stones

novice lw
185, 225, 250, 260, 280
novie HW-open LW
225, 250, 260, 280, 300
open heavy weight
260, 280, 300, 330, 350

ANY ADIVCE IS WELCOME!!

-angryjon