New Routine?

Hey, I started on a routine that Gerdy came up with for me when I started training.
It was 2 body parts a day and each body part gets trained once a week one week and twice a week the next week. It had back/arms, chest/shoulders, and leg days on a 5 day a week routine.

I switched it to back with shoulders and chest with arms and my shoulder press nearly doubled. Also, I switched it so back/shoulders is always twice a week and chest/arms is once. I felt that training arms directly twice a week when they’re being used on other days too is overkill.

Also, I can’t push more, or as much as, I pull. I need to do pull:push in at least a 2:1 ratio or my back starts feeling weird. I can’t explain it, but my body just likes it better that way.

So, this has been my routine and I’ve put on almost 50lbs with it:
Monday: back/shoulders
Tuesday: legs
Wednesday: chest/arms
Thursday: off
Friday: back/shoulders
Saturday: legs
Sunday: off

On Saturday, My legs weren’t ready to be trained again and I didn’t have time for shoulders that Friday, only back, so I did shoulders alone on Saturday.

Today, my shoulders are sore for the first time that I can remember. I did machine lat raises for the first time and felt those very nicely, but I think that training just one body part a day would let me focus more on it, you know, concentrating the love. Also, my back/shoulders workouts have been nearing 2+ hours and it just seems too long.

So, here’s my questions… Can I still make progress training each body part only once a week? Legs would still be twice a week if they’re ready for day 2. I’ve been making progress on my chest and arms doing them only once a week, but I’ve never done one body part a day. What should I do?

Also, if I switch to one body part a week, how will I maintain my 2:1 back:chest training ratio? I don’t know what to do. Help please?
Thanks

[quote]Artem wrote: