T Nation

New Program, Crazy?

I posted my training program a while back trying to figure out why I always felt weak in day 1, and was told the routine had way too much volume. I found that that once I dropped the triceps lockout prior to chest training things went fine. I have been on the program for several weeks, gaining some decent poundage both on my lifts and frame.

As my progress halted, I have recently started a new (but similar) routine that seems to work fine, but it maybe completely out of whack as I have little experience of designing my own programs. I know I could just choose a program from this site, but it’s much more fun the other way around. Here goes:

Day 1: Chest and Back

• Barbell Rows: 5X5

• Dumbell Rows: 3X8-10

• Lat Pulldown: 4X6 (alternated with chins/pullups)

• Isolation Exercise

• Bench barbell press: Going for 10X3, probably 7-8X3.

• Incline barbell press: 2X7-8

• Dips to failure

Day 2: Legs and Shoulders

• Dumbell shoulder press: 3X6-7

• Behind neck press: What I feel like

• Lateral raises: 3X10

• Deadlift: work up to a heavy single + some sumos and snatch grips

• Breathing Squats: 20 reps (the weight is a little less than usual because of the deadlift, still makes me want to cry)

• If I can still walk, some leg curls or extensions.

Day 3: Arms and traps

• Close grip bench press: 2-3X6-8

• Triceps extension: 5X5

• Barbell curl: 4X6

• Incline curl: 2-3X8-10

• Isolation exercise.

• Power shrugs: 3X5-7.

This is the basic outline, I don’t follow it religiously. For instance instead of doing both dumbell 5X5 and military press 8X2, I may do DP 2X5 and MP 3X5. I also try to do some low volume leg work every workout, as well as lagging body parts.

For bench press, I’m working up to a 5X5 (3X10, 3X8, 4X6, 5X4). That’s basically what I do with the other low-rep exercises too, progressing to higher rep ranges.
The leg day may seem a bit crazy, but it sure is blowing up my legs.