T Nation

New Member, Routine Questions

Hi, new member here. Reading a lot of stuff on the site and I think I came to the right place.

I joined for the purpose of getting some discussion on lifting routines. I've been lifting on and off for 4 years now, and think I'm ready to take it a bit more seriously.

I dont watch my diet at all, I drink a fair amount of beer, I take no supplements and dont have any gear aside from straps and wrist wraps. Also when Im in the gym, over the years my average time spent was maybe 30 minutes, 3 times a week. Oh, and cardio? I used to run long distance in track in high school, but atm I'm not entirely sure I could finish a 2 mile race.

The above being said, I still seem to be one of the stronger guys in all the gyms I've been to. I work hard in there, get done and get out. I also was under the impression that I work smart as well, but I'm seeing some disparity in lifting programs compared to mine.

I have been asked more than once: "what are you on?", and they look unconvinced when I say nothing. I tried creatine in high school wreslting because I was cutting massive weight and was willing to try anything, that didnt last, havent even touched protein since (though I eat enough of it anyhow).

Anyways, if I'm where I am now, maybe some good advice and I can be competitive? Who knows. Here is my current routine:

Day 1: Chest/Tris

Bench
warmup 135x10 (fast as I can pump em off)
225x10
245x8
275x6
295x4
315x2 (I used to go back down this pyramid at my peak, minus two reps each set: 295x2, 275x4, 245x6, etc. Was training for 225 reps at this time)

flat bench dumbbells, starting from the 'up' position, I lower them down slowly, 4 seconds, and explode up
4 sets of 80s to 100s for 8-10

After this I was typically done, sometimes Id do cable tricep pulldowns, or pec flies with dumbells or pushups.

Day 2: Legs

Squat
I haven't done em for a couple years, getting back into the swing: