New Male Models Skinnier Than Ever

“Where the masculine ideal of as recently as 2000 was a buff 6-footer with six-pack abs, the man of the moment is an urchin, a wraith or an underfed runt.”

Uhhhh…

[quote]bulldogtor wrote:
“Where the masculine ideal of as recently as 2000 was a buff 6-footer with six-pack abs, the man of the moment is an urchin, a wraith or an underfed runt.”

Uhhhh…[/quote]

uhhhh…

Someone obviously hasn’t been listening to almighty LaBuff…

I mean these guys are just too big…it’s just not functional…

and to think that a young lady my age would prefer a “physique” like that…

Guys go easy they are hardgainers…that’s all

I read that article a year or so ago.
not so new male models

I am a profesional photographer, and Ill try to explain to you waz up with all these skinnymodel trend.

In fashion and clothing industry the most important thing that has to stand out in a photoshoot is of course the clothes and accesories, not the models. Thats why they always use a skinny guy with a pretty face. A skinny model is easier to pose, and the clothes will look more natural to them.

Sometimes the clothes need to be a lil bit modyfied during the photoshoot to accuire a desired effect. For example if you want an arm or leg that needs to appear larger you just cut and paste the clothes. ( true story in a Nautica shot. )
In the runway its the same story,a skinny guy is better because its just like a coathanger, an his body dosent draw attention from what he’s wearing.

If they used more athletic models, the clothes will look a little bit stretched from the arms and from some other parts. The clothes will not look natural. And if you put them an XXL shirt, it might not look very good.
Another reason why they almost never use athletic models so much now is that a good body, maybe not huge, but just strong, can draw attention from the clothes/accesories/shoes, and of course thats not good.