New Lifter at 50, One Year On

Hi
I want to thank the contributors and commenters on this site and to encourage any readers my age thinking about picking heavy things up and putting them down.

I got my three lift total to 1000 pounds today, for me this is big.

I started lifting in May of last year after finding some barbells and weights in a scrap metal pile. I had hurt my back a couple of years before and had begun doing bodyweight exercises. That worked but I had found TNation researching exercise for my back and became intrigued by the possibility of getting stronger rather than just allowing my body crumble with age. I was ready when those weights showed up.

I have been consistent and focused on slowly increasing my weights and have seen my lifts more than double in just over a year.

I am 180 pounds and 5’10’ maybe 10 pounds heavier than when I started but my body has changed more than I believed possible.

I know that to people thinking about starting out this all seems overwhelming. It isn’t. Work consistently at any reasonable program, eat big but clean, prioritize sleep. That’s it even for old farts like us.

Hey man, great job!

A 1000 total @180lbs after 1 year of training is excellent!

What’s your current age and future goals?

Fuck yeah buddy.

Keep killing it!

I am 51 now and my lifting goals are, get a 405 deadlift just to see the wheels stack up, to get a 280 bench press because I misloaded the bar to 280 a while back and was crushed so I am looking for little payback, and a body weight strict overhead press (I am at 150).