New Job, Manual Labor - Any Program Changes?

Every time I see this topic I skip it - as I have no experience in the subject AND worked a desk job. So didn’t need to learn anything about it.
But I’ve changed to a manual labour job. A proper manual labour job as well. Steel erecting.

The question is simple - is there anything else to do but up the calories, keep and eye on hydration and make sure sleep is nailed on?
I’m guessing this is it. Any other advice.

Sounds good :man_shrugging: I’ve only ever worked manual labor so I’m not sure what you’d want to change but what you stated sounds good! Hydration is hard when working outside. I don’t think some people realize how much water you really need when you’re outside working all day long. I also like to drink a biolyte drink here and there.

You can take a deload for a first week and then slowly adjust total volume as you could be more sore for the first weeks. Also your lifts might suffer a bit at start but they will come back up later when you get used to it.
Depending on what kind of work you do(i dont know what is steel erecting) and what taxes each muscles, you could also not do any accessory lifts for those muscles as your daily volume at work might be enough for that(for example - i used to dig ditches when i was 17, and that is basically light deadlift done 3000 times per day, so no need for hyperextensions etc).

You can also try to use your work as training - if you need to lift smth, you can actually lift it like it works certain muscles, and switch it up, so you actually add some nice volume.

I don’t know how they do it in the UK but in the US they’ll have you running buckets of nuts and bolts and doing the ugly grunt work until you either get good at it or quit.