New Having Troubles Training.

Ok, this is my last resort. I have looked over the web, but my search has not come across anything concrete.

I’m new to weight training, having only done it for 6-7 months (with a three month gap, due to A Levels, High school finals I believe, if your American).

I have been doing Dumbbell Bent Over Rows for about three weeks, and I love them,. I love the workout it gives my whole back. Though the day after, I have a sort of pain in the centre of my upper back. This dissipates after a day or two, but what I’m wondering is if this is natural?

I stretch well for this, but it persists, and I don’t think I’m doing a too heavy weight (24kg/about 50lb), as I do 3x8, where the last two reps on the third set are very hard.

I’d like input from those who have experience doing weight training.

As I’m mentioning pain, do deadlifts help with pain that you get in the lower back? I’ve had a pain in the lower back, which is painful when I run. I stopped weight training for about a month to let it heal (which my GP said I should do), but it still remains. So are there any exericses that could help strengthen the lower back and get rid of the pain?

By the way, hello everyone.

If the only thing you’ve been doin is bent rows everyday for the past three weeks, theres your problem right there. Do you have a routine? Whats your form look like or do you not know? Do you do any other exercises, how often do you lift?

If you know a little bit, then you would know that doing the same muscle group everyday will lead to over training which isn’t cool at all. But just answer those questions and i’m sure people will have more for you, but if you want help provide as much info as possible.

You could work a whole routine with those dumbells, just read through the beginners thread at the top of this forum.

exercises like dumbell press, db bench or floor press, db lunges and step ups, and some bodyweight stuff like dips, press ups.