T Nation

New Guy Saying 'Hi'

Hey there, guys and gals.

I have been lurking around here for the past couple weeks, but this is my first post, and hopefully there will be many more to come.

I am not quite sure what information you folks will or will not want to hear, so I am just going to jot down everything I can possibly think of. I suppose you are all old enough to decide what you care to read and what you do not care to read.

About me
22 years old
Youngstown, OH
5'11"
225lbs
20% body fat, according to the calculator I found here...
http://www.healthcentral.com/cholesterol/home-body-fat-test-2774-143.html?ic=4001
Bench- 195 1rm
Squat- 260 1rm
Deadlift- Not tested

Training History
I played baseball in high school, and I have never been in better shape than I was during those 4 years. Before then, my diet and exercise habits were shit, and my body showed it. After I graduated, and made the (very bad) decision not to play in college, I put far too much emphasis on partying, and far too little emphasis on my health. Although I have never been the best-looking, most buff guy, things really went downhill for me at that point, and I ballooned up from an average-looking 200 lbs to a disgusting 290 lbs.

About a year and a half ago, I decided to start a completely misguided attempt at getting in shape. I had absolutely no knowledge of how to accomplish this, so I made a couple terrible decisions. I bought a copy of Muscle & Fitness, and I went to GNC to buy some supps. I guess somehow I thought "supplements" were a "supplement" for hard work. As you might expect, this course of action led me to nothing but disappointment and frustration. It did not take long before I put the supps in the cupboard, put down the weights, and gave up altogether.