New Gains - Where am I Doing Wrong?

I’m currently trying to increase my daily calorie intake due to starting a new job 3 months ago. I’m an electrician, so I’m constantly moving. All summer long, I basically sat on my ass and did nothing and was probably eating around 2800-3200 calories a day. I weighed in at 230-232 (later in the day) @ 6’6". I’m pretty lean, abs are visible, especially since I started a more physical job as a tradesman. When I first started working, I noticed my weight dropped quickly to around 225, so I increased my calories and got back up to around 230-235lbs (where I’m sitting at now).

I’m basically looking to increase muscle mass with minimal fat gain. Do I increase my calories even more? I’m probably hitting close to 3500-4000 calories a day now. I know I probably need more to increase muscle. I’ve also been following 5/3/1 on my main lifts for years now, and basically doing an upper/lower split with an additional arm day on the weekend. Maybe I need to change up my programming to see new gains as well?

Any additional information I need to add, feel free to let me know. Thank you

To gain muscle mass, you need to eat. If you get fat, eat less. If you loose too much weight, eat more. Look also into the type of foods, timing and quality.

Are you doing 5/3/1 or upper/lower split? If you need an extra arm day, you need to get on a proper program.

I follow 5/3/1 for my main lifts: Bench, Squat, Deadlift and Overhead Press.

So for example, if I have a 5/3/1 Bench day, I would consider this an upper body day, push and pull work. It would look like this:

-5/3/1 Bench

• DB rows
    -Incline DB press with pull ups or pull downs
  • (Maybe another incline movement with a row variation)
  • DB flies or Pec Dec with another back movement