New Found Life

I’m turning 49 in two weeks and just gotta say: I feel better than I’ve ever felt. I started lifting seriously 2 years ago after NOT having stepped into a gym in 17 years! I worked with a personal trainer (who was 21!!) and made it my goal to be able to do what he does (maybe not the weight but all the exercises). I lucked out in finding a guy who knew what he was talking about. I’ve never been injured. We now hit the heavy bag and do martial arts fighting.

My body fat is now 9%, I weigh 195 and my one rep max is 265! I have now started studying to get my certification as a personal trainer (NASM). I’m planning for a very active retirement and a new career!! feels great

Happy Birthday! and keep up the good work.

Congratulations- you have virgin joints at your age!

Do some study about how to keep them that way. Auxillary excersices for spinal stability are very important if you are going to squat and deadlift heavy.

[quote]ejatwill wrote:
I’m turning 49 in two weeks and just gotta say: I feel better than I’ve ever felt. I started lifting seriously 2 years ago after NOT having stepped into a gym in 17 years! I worked with a personal trainer (who was 21!!) and made it my goal to be able to do what he does (maybe not the weight but all the exercises). I lucked out in finding a guy who knew what he was talking about. I’ve never been injured. We now hit the heavy bag and do martial arts fighting.

My body fat is now 9%, I weigh 195 and my one rep max is 265! I have now started studying to get my certification as a personal trainer (NASM). I’m planning for a very active retirement and a new career!! feels great[/quote]

You are doing great man! From one 49 year old to another: Keep up the good work!

Hey, I hear you and congratulations.

I’m a “baby” 43 yr old, and I’ve only been back in the gym for 6 months, but likewise, I feel great.

Besides, it’s fun.

And without all the pressures of being young again, I get to just enjoy it.

Welcome aboard!