T Nation

New Female PLer Needing Advice on Gear

Hey everyone. I’ve been lifting for over 10 years and finally decided to sign up for my 1st powerlifting meet. My 1st meet will be in October for the USPF and I plan on competing in the raw division. I checked out the rulebook but still have a few gear questions.

My Stats
5’9" - 165 lbs
Squat - 225
Bench - 175
Deadlift - 355

I currently use Tommy Kono knee bands which I see are allowed but I wasn’t sure if I could use my belt or not. It’s a pink Shieck women’s belt… USPF says nylon belts are acceptable but I’m not if my style is allowed or not. Anyone know? If it isn’t, I’d appreciate any advice on good belts.

Also, I have a pair of Rogue wrist wraps but I don’t know if those are acceptable either since they aren’t on the approved gear list. Was looking into getting a pair of the Inzer ones but wasn’t sure which line to go with, True Black or Iron Z. Also, would it be worth getting knee wraps even though raw doesn’t allow anything but knee sleeves?

Sorry for all the newbie questions but just want to make sure I’m legal in my 1st meet. Appreciate any advice!

Your belt is most likely perfectly fine. Pretty most any wrist wrap of normal length is going to be acceptable how ever I much prefer Inzers over Rogues. Also not sure about your particular FED but many do allow Knee Wraps for RAW. Like the SPF has RAW without Knee Wrap records and RAW with Knee Wraps Records. Awesome lifts by the way.

I have heard that belts that taper in the front, or taper too much in the front are not allowed sometimes, most of the time, not sure.

[quote]mertdawg wrote:
I have heard that belts that taper in the front, or taper too much in the front are not allowed sometimes, most of the time, not sure. [/quote]

Varies from Fed to Fed.

Thanks.

This is the belt I have: 4 3/4 Schiek Lifting Belt