New Deadlift PR for Me!

I know its pretty light weight for most of you but Im pretty new to powerlifting and I have been wanting to pull over 400 for a while. I just 406 on Friday. I am doing starting strength right now and I finished up with my deadlifts (350x5) and decided to see if I could set a new 1 RM.

My old 1 RM was 365…so I was pretty excited. I just needed to tell some people who understand what its like to hit that new PR.

Here’s a crappy video taken from my friends cell phone. Any critique on my form?

I couldn’t get the volume to work on the video shown above so I posted the youtube link so you can hear it.

Congrats! A 35lb PR is great!!

Claire

Well done, actually looked like you had a bit more in you!

Congrats. May help to get your butt down a little lower at the start. Happy Pullin.

Good job, man. I agree that if you get your hips lower at the beginning, you will put less stress on your back and will certainly pull more.

You can definitely pull more than 405. It looked pretty easy.

Thanks for the feedback. I’ll try to lower my hips a little and see how it feels. I wasn’t planning to test my 1RM that day…it was spur of the moment. I was using kg plates so it came out to 406 but I think you guys are right.

I bet I could pull more…after I did that I told my friend I should have done it for a double. lol.

Guy your height and weight should be pulling atleast 455 without too much difficulty.

Give it a month, I think youll see very very rapid gains as you get used to the lift.

I think I could have pulled more and now that I’ve broken the 400lb mark (a lot of it was mental I think) I bet I will keep seeing big improvements.

495 is my new goal.