New Bikes On The Tour?

For all of you guys in the know (I’m just really getting into competitive Bike Racing!)

It seems like there has been a fundamental change in the Bikes as I’ve watched the Tour de France. 1) The frames are “thicker” and 2) The tires are “thicker”.

Is this a fundamental change, and what does it represent?

For a “leisure” rider like myself who would like to get in periodic races (like benefits/fund raisers/community races/etc.), what are you guys favorite brands of Bikes?

Thanks!

Mufasa

I ride a Trek 1000c. The 1000 line is good for serious beginers, which I still consider myself to be even though I’ve been riding for 2 years. I just got back from a vacation so I’l need to check out the bikes on tour.

I ride a 2002 Quintana Roo - Private Reserve Compact.

However, QR is specifically manufactured in the triathlon geometry.

Engineers have found that the stiffer the frame the more efficient the bike is. If the frame tubing has larger diameter cross section it is stiffer due to an increase in the moment of inertia. I assume they are using a carbon composite material which is much lighter and stiffer and translates into faster handling.

I ride a Cervelo, but truthfully many quality bikes are on the market and you should spend a little time to get one that “fits” you.

As far as the “thicker” looking frames and rims, some of them look thick when viewed from the side. A front view would let you see how thin and aerodynamic they really are. Almost like looking at a knife blade. From the side it does appear thick, but head on very thin. I know this is a shitty explanation, but it’s the best I got. They have come a long way from round or even slightly oblong tubes from a few years ago.

[quote]bailey_run wrote:
I ride a Cervelo, but truthfully many quality bikes are on the market and you should spend a little time to get one that “fits” you.