New and Confused

Hello everyone,

Allow me to preface. I am a freshman in college, I have been skinny all my life. At 5’11 and 160 pounds, today is no exception to this rule. I have been lifting seriously since my college’s spring break (about two months now). Beginning in weight training is a very discouraging experience. Despite being fed loads and loads of BS by countless individuals, I feel like I have sifted my way to some clarity on the fundamentals.

When I began lifting, the amount of body muscle I lacked was truly impressive. On bench, I could put up 85 pounds like 7 times or something equally depressing. I couldn’t curl 20 pound free weights. My shoulders, oh my shoulders- they’re still miserable.

Through steady work and subtle diet shifts, I’ve managed to increase my strength and size somewhat. Nothing spectacular; on bench, I can put up 135 four times. I’ve never done my single repetition maximum, I would guess it to be 140.

My shoulders are depressingly weak. When doing seated military presses, I start with 20 pound free weights and increase to 25s. With a bar, I hit 75 6-8 times.

Obviously, this is in no way bragging, I am well aware of how abysmal such numbers sound to those of you that easily handle five times what I do.

I have another issue (problem?). I almost never get sore. Even after a day of particularly intensive focus on say, my shoulders, they simply do not hurt. Am I not pushing hard enough? On my last sets, I typically go to muscle failure. Should I train to muscle failure for all sets? Is soreness a good thing? Does its absence indicate a lack of intensity?

Luckily, I am blessed with a strong back (I say blessed because, to my knowledge, I never did things to specifically exerciese it before now).

Given that my chest and shoulders are terribly weak, how should I approach my lifting to accomodate gains in those areas?