T Nation

New, Advice on Reps and Workout Length

I’m new to the gym/weightlifting (3 weeks now) and have played around with different sets/rep combos. I have done the higher rep range with lower weight, which felt pretty good after I was done.
I also tried a lower rep range with higher weight and it doesn’t seem like I get the same effect from (if that makes sense)

Today I played around with pyramid sets, but just staying with one exercise, going down by 5lbs each set for 4 sets. Can this cause damage to the muscles by pounding the hell out of them for a 50 minute workout?

How long should a workout last to get a good affect from the time spent? (Sorry for not knowing jack but I’d like to learn to make the most of my time) that ka in advance for any guidance and knowledge

Since I started lifting my workouts have rarely been 50 minutes long.

For rep ranges since you are a beginner I would stick with 4 sets of 8 where every rep is slow and controlled. Focus on learning good form and feeling the muscle work (comes with time).
Also, what training split are you using? If full body you may need a little longer in the gym but if you are “working out” more than an hour and a half you are probably doing to much or taking to long of rest periods.

Work in whatever rep range feels the best to you–the range you find the most rewarding/gratifying. The idea behind this is very simple–if you enjoy what you’re doing, you’re more apt to stick with it. Like lifting heavy? Lift heavy. Like doing pump work? Do pump work.

As for doing too much–it’s essentially impossible for someone at your level to overtrain. You are not going to ‘damage the muscles by pounding the hell out of them for a 50 minutes.’ Feel free to work as hard as you’d like.

How long should a workout last? I’d ballpark it in the 45-90 minute range.

7 Likes

I’ve done a lot of programs, the one I enjoy the most is an upper lower split. You get the best of both worlds

Monday: heavy lower
Tuesday: heavy upper