Neutral Grip Dumbbell Bench Press

Fine, I’m a noob, I dont know shit… yet.

Neutral grip dumbbell bench presses seem to be a lot easier on my wrists than the regular version and barbell bench presses.

So i wanna include them a lot more in my chest workouts, only i rarely, if ever, see other people doing them at the gym, never seem to see them in internet or magazine routines.

What gives?

I feel it is an exercise that compliments the other chest exercises. It uses the same muscles but in different ways. I don’t think it’s an exercise that your ego can dictate…
It’s not about how much weight you can use, but the muscles you stimulate and strengthen to compliment and balance your big bad bench :stuck_out_tongue:

They just suck for bodybuilding most of the time.

If you have some kind of injury they are useful if you want to keep on exercising through a non-painful range of motion.

But if you want your pecs to grow, regular barbell and dumbbell benching is where it’s at… if these hurt your wrists, you probably aren’t doing them correctly.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with neutral grip bench pressing, even for bodybuilding. They’ll hit your shoudlers and triceps a bit more and your chest a bit less, which means you may need a bit more direct chest work to make up for this.

What is “neutral grip”? I thought there was only 1 way to grip a dumbbell.

[quote]LankyMofo wrote:
[/quote]

LOL. When you push the dumbell it doesn’t go anywhere…the lifter just grunts like a revving engine.

[quote]mr popular wrote:
They just suck for bodybuilding most of the time.
[/quote]

Bullshit. How are these any worse than normal grip db benching? I am thinking you are going to say that the triceps and delts are involved too much, but I am going to disagree. I do db benching this way. I only do the bottom half of the movement (no locking out) and I feel it in my chest just fine. The ‘normal’ db grip aggravets my shoulders.