Negetive Reps

I have been working out on and off for about 5 years now and have been really serious for the past 6 months (with proper diet, training schedule, etc.). In the last 3 months I noticed that I have most of my power in the positive motion of the rep. but seem to be hurting more in the negative part (especially in the biceps and chest), so I started concentrating on a controlled positive rep. and then a super slow and controlled negative rep. I found that this method just chewed the hell outta my muscles in the best way possible. Since I started doing this I have increased my bench by 50 pounds(in sets, not max) and my dumbbell curls went from 20 lbs to 45 lbs. I also gained almost 3 inches now on my arms and almost 6 inches on my chest. Am I just deluded or have I accidentally found my own personal “Holy Grail” for my genetics? Any advice would be appreciated.

i think most national and world class strength atheletes do little or no negative work at all. i don’t think louie simmons incorporates slow negatives. i used to do some negative work but not much now. supposedly works well for hyprtrphy, but maybe not necessarily for strength.

let’s see… poliquin once said that if you have weak eccentric strength then you need to work on doing more reps. Whether or not this has to do with focusing on concentric strength not sure. But you seem to have found what works for you. Stick with it! But remember to switch it up before you hit a wall. Wow, impressive gains.

I don’t mean to be offensive but with
regard to the measurement changes, let’s
say that an error has almost certainly been made rather than that you’re “deluded.”

Unless you allowed your weight to crash
far below your previously well-trained
weight, I think it’s impossible to gain
an actual six inches on the chest in three
months, or almost three inches on the
arms (e.g. from 14" to almost 17".)

However, with a change in measurement
technique, an error of three inches