Negatives of Anti Inflam. Meds?

I’ve been lifing heavy for about 20 years. Due to heavy benching, my left rotator cuff always gives me problems. I’ve done rotator work and it’s helped, and I’ve used flax seed oil and that’s helped too, but for some reason lately my shoulder’s been acting up again.

I’ve decided to use ibuprofen only just before doing chest once per week. I was wondering how bad this is in light of the fact that anti infammatories reduce the anabolic response from training. I figure two tablets once a week shouldn’t completely negate my training right?

first of all, sais who? who came up with this bullshit. some of the biggest most jacked guys i have ever know were competitive pl who lived of buckets of NSAIDS just to get through training.

you honestly think “THEY” did a study where they took a group of HYOOOOGE lifters, put them on a large dosage of ibuprofin, and over a period of weeks wathced them shrivel down to nothing??? haha.

The blunt anaolic response is the last thing I’d be worrying about.

I’d say it’s bad in light of the fact that if you keep this up you’re going to need surgery.

There are conflicting ideas about whether or not the anti-inflammatory effects of NSAIDs (like ibuprofen) interfere with muscle growth stimulation by inhibiting prostaglandins.

Only taking 1 tablet before your workout is unlikely to do this much, if at all. It takes several days of multiple dosing to get to anti-inflammatory therapeutic blood levels of NSAIDs. With one tablet, once in a while, all you get is a brief, pain relief effect.

I rarely take them, but will take Tylenol instead for pain and DOMS.

I had my shoulder injected this week for chronic impingement syndrome/ subacromial bursitis. It may be of benefit to you. I administer shoulder injections, but I won’t do them more than twice a year. It’s something to discuss with your doctor.