T Nation

Needing Help As A Beginner

Hey guys,

I was wondering if I could get some help from you all. I am a beginner. First off I am trying to lose weight ( mainly my stomach, looking for killer ab workout ) and am also wanting to gain muscle. Go figure right? lol I am looking for . . .

• A workout routine to follow 3 to 4 days a week

• Supplements to take ( what has worked for you to gain mass? )

• Should I take protein while trying to lose weight?

• I currently have a clean diet that consists of chicken breast, talapia, cottage cheese, greens, nuts, yogurt, egg whites, turkey bacon, fruits

Any and all help would be appreciated guys, really looking forward to your replies

Tim
24 6’0 235

I had really good results starting out on stronglifts 5x5. Look it up. 5/3/1 is also good. Starting strength also comes up but I haven’t done it.

As far as supplements:

–Protein (it’s even more important when you’re trying to lose fat and gain muscle)
–Fish Oil
–Creatine

Also, I recommend you think of your goal as gaining muscle while losing fat, rather than weight. Focus more on getting stronger, eating right, and dropping inches off your waist/ seeing some abs. Focusing too much on weight loss will contradict your goal of gaining muscle without necessarily giving you good long term results.

If you still weigh the same (or more) a year from now but you’re lean and strong with a good looking six pack, would you consider that a failure because you didn’t lose weight? That’s not to say you can’t lose weight; just don’t worry too much about the number on the scale.

I really appreciate that advice. And yeah I am wanting to gain muscle and become lean like you said, I am not worried about a scale, just my body.

Know anything that will really slim down the waist?

Workout A
Squat 5x5
Bench Press 5x5
Barbell Row 5x5
Barbell Shrug 3x8
Skullcrusher 3x8
Chins 3x5-8
or Striaght Bar/Incline Curl 3x8
Hyperextention 2x10
Kneeling Cable Crunch 3x10-20

Workout B
Squat 5x5