Need to Lose 25 Pounds

I started training officially in October 2011 and have not missed a session yet. But I have been so focused on bulking up that I never really cared about loosing weight, but that has to end. I really want to focus on getting to 200lbs.

I stared the 5/3/1 strength training routine last Monday and added about 30 min of cardio 4 days a week. But is that enough? Is there anyone who has been 25+ over weight and needed to loose it? I want to be at 200 lbs by march, which comes to 3 lbs a week. Any advice or tips??

Drop the aerobic and stick to anaerobic for weight loss. lift heavy or sprint. I love me some HOT-ROX, but if you up your protein intake, you’ll have no issues dropping the carbs to lower your overall caloric intake.

[quote]jhaynes920 wrote:
I started training officially in October 2011 and have not missed a session yet. But I have been so focused on bulking up that I never really cared about loosing weight, but that has to end. I really want to focus on getting to 200lbs.

I stared the 5/3/1 strength training routine last Monday and added about 30 min of cardio 4 days a week. But is that enough? Is there anyone who has been 25+ over weight and needed to loose it? I want to be at 200 lbs by march, which comes to 3 lbs a week. Any advice or tips?? [/quote]

Do you WANT to be 200 by March, or do you NEED to be 200 by March?

“Need”
Do you have to cut weight for a fight/match of some sort? You can’t fit into your suit to renew your wedding vows? Are you having some sort of invasive surgery that your doctor told you that you cannot have until you lose 25 pounds?

“Want”
You don’t really want to work out for more than three weeks? You’ve arbitrarily set that goal for yourself because it “sounded good.” You’re just impatient.

If the “Want” category, fits you more than the “Need” category, then just slow down and do it right. Lift heavy, do some interval training, and eat good food.