T Nation

Need to Get Stronger.

I have been messing around with bodybuilding now for about 4 years, and I just want to get a lot stronger. Therefore I feel that changing from BB training to powerlifting for a couple of years would do me right.
I am not sure which program I should follow. Can you recommend something? I am new to powerlifting.

Stats:
17 years old
194 lbs
11% fat
5 ft 10
Bench: 290 lbs
Squat: 400 lbs (estimate, I have not tried my max for this lift)
Deadlift: 396 lbs

Any input would be great. Be as critical as you like. Do I need more mass? Should I just "shut up and eat"?
I would like to see my bench reach 350 lbs at the end of the year. All other lifts to increase with the bench in proportion. Thank you.

Smolov squat program +more food=big

http://tnation.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/sports_body_training_performance_bodybuilding_strength/smolov_jr_spreadsheet

I gained 70 pounds on my max after doing this program.(I had a really weak squat, so your gains probably won't be as large, but still a great program)

My first bit of advice would be getting down the technique for the big 3. As far as a program, there are plenty of good ones, but the first ones that come to my mind are 5/3/1 and WS4SB. I will say though a program is not 100% necessary, but if you want guidance, it's the surest way.

I would advise against using smolov since it's a squat specialization routine, as in you pretty much just squat. Are you interested in powerlifting, or just getting stronger and bigger? I and a lot of other people have had great success with programs that emphasize the basics, like 5/3/1, which is what I would recommend.

Also understand that in powerlifting, in order to claim a lift, you have to have actually done it.