Need Some Input Please

I recently made the commitment to consistent weight training in October 2007. I made some pretty decent gains but I’m meeting up with a bit of frustration and breaking into the next performance level of physique enhancement.

A little bit of my background: I started lifting, mostly bench press when I was a senior in high school and began winning benchpress championships that were amateur, but championships nevertheless. I was able to obtain bench pressing a maximum of 415 pounds steroid free. This was pretty good for my day. Now days, that isn’t considered much of a max.

While in the military at age 21 I quit weightlifting altogether - probably to my demise. So with that, 21 years later, an MBA, and PhD, a gorgeous wife and three beautiful children later I thought it would get off of my butt and start pumping iron again. I think my wife deserves more than an out of shape old man for a husband.

Currently, my maximum benchpress is well over 300 pounds and I usually work out with repetitions of 8 using about 250 to 285 pounds on the bench. When I was a 19-year-old kid I used to work out with 315 pounds with reps of 8 and did three to four sets maximum. My benchpress didn’t really take off until I started doing squats. After getting serious with squats my benchpress seemed to go through the roof, and I really started looking extremely athletic. I was naturally skinny because of my body type (ectomorph) so to look beefy at all was quite an accomplishment in my eyes.

After I decided to quit lifting weights I just got skinny again. Over the course of the next 20 years I noticed that I started looking pudgy around the face and around the waist. After seeing myself a picture I thought I better do something about it so here I am. I have always been athletic to say the least, but this is my first time 20 years and I’m taking the bull by the horns to do some serious physique transformation.