Need Some Input for a First Time Home Buyer

Hey Brahs, I’m about a year out of college, looking to buy a house in the summer of 2019. I’m 24 years old. I’ve been working a shit job since I graduated but I finally landed a better one and will be starting soon. First year I’ll make $68k and it will increase from there yearly. My girlfriend is in nursing school and she should make about the same once she graduates. We both have student loans and car payments, but besides that virtually debt free. If we have a combined gross salary of 130-140k, how much house can we afford? With our car payments and student loans we’re looking at $1200-1400 per month in spending. Probably only going to put 3.5% down on the first house. I’ve started saving, but only have about 5k saved thus far. I should be able to save a lot more this coming year as my salary will double. Any recommendation for a first time home buyer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks brahs

You need to wait 3-5 years.

Don’t buy a house with someone unless you are married.
Pay off the student loans first or at least put a huge dent in them.
Save 10% down or better yet 20%.
By the time you are done with that, you will have paid off the cars. Don’t buy new ones.

4 Likes

I figured it would be smarter financially to purchase a house sooner rather than throwing away money on a $1500-$1600 rent payment.

Girlfriend, not wife. Meaning you spend based on what YOU make. Don’t be an idiot. Put a ring on the finger and use joint income, or base your budget around your own income. No lender will consider your gf’s income anyway.

Don’t buy a house until your salary ACTUALLY doubles. You’ll qualify for a bigger loan once that happens.