T Nation

Need Some Help

So I'm a complete beginner to weight lifting. I'm 19, 5'8, 127lbs and fairly weak. My #1 goal is size, I really don't care about strength all that much.

I'm tossing up between All Pro's routine or a 5x5 / Starting Strength type routine. From what I've researched, All Pros is geared more towards size gain. Over a 12 month period which one would I be better starting off with though?

For my goals, am I better off building a decent base of strength on Rippetoe's and then moving onto a more hypertrophy based routine? I understand I'd still gain some size with Rippetoe's, it just wouldn't be as much.

Which do I start with?

Starting Strength. Why would you not really care about strength? Do some research a bit dude.

Go read some articles on here

I care about strength as it relates to size. What's wrong with that?

Anyway, diet being the same, I'm going to gain more mass on Starting Strength than this?

This just seems like some moron on bb.com who thinks he can write a good program and have all his internet buddies praise him. He just named random exercises without thinking about movement patterns.

Toss some pull-ups, and some tricep work in there if you really want to follow his program. He's kind of got the right idea with rep ranges, but the program is stupid.

Do Starting Strength. People have gotten great results from that. I don't see anyone telling bb.com guy how big and strong they have gotten from his shit.

Your diet needs to change significantly friend.

Any program will gain your strength and size as a beginner, it's your diet that will determine how much, how quickly, etc.

There's some good bulking up diets on here that I'd read through first. Everyone here has their favorites, so pick one that looks good to you.

Try it for a couple weeks to see how your body handles the diet (this is important btw).

Then take any program and get plenty of rest/sleep at night.