Need Security Camera Advice...

So here’s the situation. For the 3rd time in 3 months, money has gone missing from my apartment. Between me, my roommate, and my roommate’s boyfriend, the tally is up to around $2000. Considering my roommate is a waitress and her boyfriend is working under the counter after getting laid off from his engineering job and I’m a grad student, this is more than a little significant.

Some of these thefts have occurred at VERY suspicious times, including one that had to have happened while the boyfriend was asleep and his wallet was emptied less than 10 feet away from him. Before, when I thought it was someone I knew, I could explain it as them being known to my roommate and her boyfriend. This last occurrence is exactly like the others, but the previous suspect is in another country. The only option is that this is a VERY calculating and VERY bold thief (this last theft happened this morning (sunday) between 7:30-10am).

I need some kind of camera system that I can set up in the apartment. Something discrete would be great, and recording is a must. Near the door to the apartment, we have a bar that has plenty of space to hide the hard drive/power supply stuff and it has a power strip too. Suggestions are very welcome.

Before you ask, we HAVE been locking the door, these have been happening in rare instances where the door is unlocked. For example, I flew back from holidays at home, but left my house key at home. I asked my roommate to leave the door unlocked when she went to work, which was the 7:30-10am window this morning. This person HAS to be watching the apartment somehow…

Have you considered that the roommate could be stealing your money, then pretending his gets stolen to take suspicion off of himself? That was the first thing I thought of.

I’ll do a stake-out. Save your money, I work for PP shakes.

[quote]Nikki9591 wrote:
I’ll do a stake-out. Save your money, I work for PP shakes.[/quote]

penis pudding shakes?