Need Program Pointers

I’ll try to make this as short as I can in order to avoid posting an essay.

Age 28 and I’ve been working out for 2 years now. I’ve put a lot of effort into researching what works the best for me and my overall goal of muscle gain. I’ve gained about 30LBS of muscle in that time, so things are going good thus far.

I’ve been following a program found on bb.com for the past 6 months.

Aka the Dorian Yates program with a few tweaks every now and then. Now over the past 6 months I find myself “half injured” all the time. Shins feel tender to the touch, Icy feeling in both my forearms, triceps pains, glut pains and so on.

After the last 6 week session I decided to take one week off, then 3 weeks where I did only 80% of the weight in every exercise that I did in week 6. (This was recommended by Yates, but promptly ignored by me up to this point)

Im at the end of the 3rd “80% week” right now

Now here is the “weird” thing. Now that I’ve droped 20% in weights I find myself ending the workout 10-15 min faster and it feels as if I get a better workout.

Could this be because I’ve been lifting with to much weight earlier or because my intensity have increased and thus adds to the “change effect” that would give me a slight boost in gains for a short period of time?

And as Ive never done this before I’m unsure where I should start out at the next 6 week session. Should I start out where I ended the last 6th week?

Or am I way off in general?

Any pointers/tips would be very welcome.

[quote]K.E.S.S. wrote:

Age 28 and I’ve been working out for 2 years now. I’ve put a lot of effort into researching what works the best for me and my overall goal of muscle gain.

[/quote]

I’d say go with this…

Strong first post