Need IT Expert Help

I have no where else to ask, so I guess I’ll just post here in case I can get good advice. I just graduated with a degree in computer engineering a week ago, and now I’m confused about what I should do with my life career wise. I know I want to do something related to business, since I like to see results that I can see immediately. Because of that, I thought of working in the IT field, and hopefully be able to move to the business side of it in the near future. Anybody got a suggestion on where I should start? The IT field is so huge, that I don’t even know where I fit in there. Thanks in advance for the replies.

Hi,

I’m not trying to be a smart arse but if you are keen on doing something in business why did you study computer engineering and not business or management?

I work as a Software Architect, which is a glorified senior developer.

There are a lot of Managers in Software companies, you could start doing a computer related job for 6 months then move in Project Management, then up to managing a whole department.

Project Management of software is pretty easy and pays well, and most companies will hire people who have showed they are intelligent by getting a degree in anything.

Try checking at gamedev.net

Chris,

I decided to take comp. engineering 4 years ago. I didn’t know enough about myself back then, and I just pick something I THOUGHT will give me the most opportunities. I thought about quitting on my 3rd year, but decided that I should finish what I start.

I’m assuming that the tile is project manager?

Kings,

I just went to the website you suggest. I’m sorry but I’m not sure what does that have to do with my question? I would appreciate it if you could explain.

Chris made some good points. If you’re interested in business it may have made more sense to get an Information Systems Management degree, it’s a lot more business focused. But you could always get a Master’s in that later on down the road if you were interested.