Need Injection for pain, but of what? Help out?

Quick background: I have a fight at the end of the month and in the competition the fighters wear no pads. I have been training for the fight for the past 3 months without pads and I’m quite banged up. What is most messed up is my left shin (for anyone who doeesn’t have an understanding of Thai boxing, you strike with you shin) Anyways the fight is about 2 weeks away and I really need this leg in tip-top shape.

My dilemma: I know that I need to let it heal by resting but with the fight so close that is not an option. I have scheduled an appointment with my doctor with the hopes that he can inject something to either numb it or seriously reduce swelling? Does anyone have any idea of something that he can do for me or am I wasting my time with this office visit? I'm open to any other ideas/home remedies. Thanks.

Um, telling your doctor that will probably get him to NOT give you painkillers. I hope you were only kicking the thai pads and nothing harder, otherwise you could be getting calcium deposits. I’ve never tried it (didn’t do more than sparring until my shins were constantly numb) but I’m told “tiger balm” helps. I think ringside.com sells it.

That sucks, you really need to give it a rest, but I think you know that. I do not know if the doctor will give you anything, and personally I am against masking pain with drugs, as you could injure it further and not know it. Keep them iced and take ibruprofen to try to reduce swelling. I would also take a break from full contact with that leg, you are only going to agravate the situation. Try some Dit Da Jow linament, you can find it at most martial arts supply places, works for some, but not a sure thing. One thing to remember, there is no shame in pulling out of a fight, if you cannot perform at full strength due to an injury. It sucks but its better than losing because you were not 100%, and possibly doing more damage.