Need Help with Recovery

Hi,
I’ve been running 5/3/1 for about 3 years now and have made significant progress strength-wise. In the last several months however I feel like I’m stalling big time and not recovering well enough.

See, I work 12 hour shifts in the ER 3x a week, and when lifting 3x a week became too much, I switched to a 2x/week lifting template (Squat/Bench+minimal assistance / Deadlift/Press+minimal assistance) and even with that I feel like I’m just barely making it.

My strength gains came with the cost of fat gain as well, and part of the reason I switched to 2x/week of lifting was to give myself another 2 days of conditioning/endurance work. But like I said work + lifting already puts me at 5 days of no recovery; add family responsibilities to that and there isn’t a day when I can say I feel properly rested.

What else can I do to be able to safely maintain what I have and add conditioning?

Best ways to recover are prioritizing sleep and diet. Personally aside from that at 36 years old, a couple Epsom salt baths per week and icing some joints now and again help quite a bit.

What are your sleep, diet and stress levels like? I feel like all three of these issues are what are holding you back. There are several people who work construction type jobs 3-5 days a week working 12+/- hours a day who still lift and such. You have just have to be extremely dialed in

Take 2scoops Mag10 or(hydrolysed whey if on budget) immediately post workout. -Makes a night and day difference in recovery.

Perfect world add Plazma as an intra or the whole ‘Jim Wendler stack’…
https://biotest.t-nation.com/packages/jim-wendler-531-stack

100mg Krill oil with breakfast the morning after good stuff also

1 Like

You probably need more sleep.

Along with what’s been said, run a few cycles of “I’m not doing jack shit” and let your body recover.