T Nation

Need Help with Low Bar Squat Elbow Position

formcheck
powerlifting
strength
performance

I’ve been powerlifting for a bout 9 months now. I’ve had this constant issue with my squat where when im approaching the bottom, my elbows just slide down forward and my upper back becomes loose but remains in extension. I’ve tried keeping my elbows up but they still swing forward at the bottom and are almost pointing straight up against the bar. I use a thumbless grip. Please help me!

Vid please.

I had this problem before my mate reckoned it was a flexibility thing but I ended up solving it by setting my back up better/tighter and not thinking about where my elbows are/go. I found good elbow position that doesn’t change is a result of a tight back set up not the other way around.

If my back got set up and stayed tight then my elbows stay in line with my torso angle and maintain that position through the whole lift. Every now and then I’m sloppy but it’s corrected elbows moving about.

You need to get tight and stay tight, and brace properly as well.

Keeping your elbows DOWN works better for 99% of people. It’s only Mark Rippetoe and his cult members that advocate elbows up, few (if any) high level lifters squat like that. Not only is it an awkward position, you also can’t engage your lats with your elbows up and that is part of bracing properly.

heres a link to my squat videos

oh, i’ve read a lot about elbows down have not tried it will do next session. But at the bottom my entire upper back loosens up. here’s the video- https://youtu.be/Vlwfs9oveoc

Thanks man.

First of all, don’t post sideways videos.