T Nation

Need Help With Clean Diet

I have been lifting for about 19 months now and have been pretty good about my routines (lifting and eating). I have just recently changed my diet to include quite a bit more protein over the last 2 weeks. The reason I added more into my diet is because I was only taking about 1 shake (post workout) a day and realized I prolly wasn’t getting over 165g of protein on average.

I also have been somewhat at a plateau in my lifting for the last three or four months. I realize this could be from my routines, but that is a separate issue. I change my routines every 5-8 weeks. Vary intensity, vary frequency and shift from bodybuilding to strength training.

Why change now? I feel I could progress faster or more efficiently. These have been my average meals during the course of a week:

Breakfast 7:30am:

Egg Whites x 6
Wheat Bread x 4
Grape Juice x 8oz

Snack Before Lunch 9:30:
Micellar protein shake 50g

Lunch 11:30:

Wheat Sandwichx2
(Roast Beef or Turkey+lettuce+mustard)
3-4 slices of thick meat.
Chicken Teriyaki x 8-10oz

Snack After Lunch 2:00:
Banana x 1
Micellar protein shake 50g

Dinner 5:00:

Chicken Breast(or Salmon/Pork) x2 4-6oz
Corn x 1cup
Noodles(some butter) x 1cup
Apple x 1

Pre-Workout Shake 6:30:
Micellar Protein x 50g

Workout 7:15-8:30 approx

Post-Workout Shake 8:45:
Whey Protein 42g

Pre-Bed Shake 9:45
Micellar Protein x50g

My micellar protein is Muscle Milk (just read article about glycocyamine after finding out how good I think this stuff tastes =/) so it has more fat than average protein. About 27g per shake. Only 18g carbs per shake.

Now my question is: Should I be getting more carbs? I know there is no average protein amount, and each person has different levels their body can use. Could this be overkill? I haven’t been gaining weight, but I also have cut out a little more of the fatty foods(bad fats), gatorades, and sugars.