Need Help with Barbell-Only Plan

Hello everyone, I will start by telling everyone a little about myself. I am 23, 5’9", and currently at about 175lb-180lb. Im not a complete newbie to the gym; however, I am new to a strict training guide.
I’m here because I have about 6 months to increase my size/strength due to a job. I understand that I am not going to become jacked or get my numbers up ridiculously; however, I do want to improve. When it comes to equipment, at my house I have a barbell and a squat rack with plenty of weight, but I do not have any dumbbells. There is a Planet Fitness near me that I can go to but I do not know if it is good to workout at the house, then drive there to finish.
Anyway, my question for you guys is this: What should I do for a plan? I would love to be able to pay a strength trainer for a detailed plan but that would be a little expensive for my budget.
Any help would be greatly appreciated, honestly.

You don’t need dumbells. I don’t have them, and workout in my garage.

5/3/1 or 10x3 are great programs that don’t require dumbells. Search this site, plenty of info on both.

1 Like

With a bar, rack and plates there isn’t really a limit to how strong you can get - certainly a lot stronger than you imagine.

I’ll second 5/3/1, especially if you do the Boring But Big template. If you don’t have a bench do floor press instead. For assistance my picks would be pull-ups/chin-ups or fatman pull-ups after press, front squats after DL, barbell rows after bench and lunges after squats.

All of that requires nothing but a bar, rack and plates.

1 Like

What’s the job?

1 Like

@dchris @MarkKO
Ill definitely look into those for sure. It is relieving to know that I do not have to have dumbbells. Also, I will be working on my cardio some. Not a lot, but some. Do you think that will hinder muscle growth?

1 Like

You should be fine.

When I was doing BBB I jumped rope between assistance on press and bench days. That’s one way of doing it.